Tokyo with Sendai and Morioka trips in 7 days: JR Pass or regular tickets?
Two round trips from Tokyo on the Tohoku Shinkansen: Tokyo to Sendai and back, and Tokyo to Morioka and back. Below, regular Shinkansen tickets are compared with the 7-day Japan Rail Pass in four ways, using fares from JR's official pages.
Official online · 7-day ordinary pass
Pass-covered trains, ordinary car
Pass saves ¥4,160
Regular tickets ¥54,160 vs ¥50,000 for the 7-day ordinary pass at the official online price. Pass saves ¥4,160.
Overseas agent · 7-day ordinary pass
Pass-covered trains, ordinary car
Pass saves ¥1,160
Regular tickets ¥54,160 vs ¥53,000 for the 7-day ordinary pass at the overseas agent price. Pass saves ¥1,160.
- Source: Types and prices | JAPAN RAIL PASS (JAPAN RAIL PASS (JR Group)) · Verified on · Official online purchasing service (JAPAN RAIL PASS Reservation). Per the JR Group release of 9 Apr 2026, online prices stay unchanged 'for a limited time' after the 1 Oct 2026 increase; the end of this price freeze will be announced later (no end date published as of 2026-10-26). validFrom is the date of the previous price change named in that release.
- Source: Price Changes for the Japan Rail Pass (April 9, 2026, JR Group) (JR Group) · Verified on · Overseas JR-designated sales offices/agencies (Exchange Order), for purchases on or after 1 Oct 2026 (local time at the place of purchase). The same amounts are shown on https://japanrailpass.net/en/purchase/price/ .
The legs
| Leg | Trips | Basic fare | Express charge | Nozomi/Mizuho | Time |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Tokyo → Sendai → TokyoTohoku Shinkansen | 2 | ¥6,270 | ¥5,360Hayabusa | — | 1 h 32 minHayabusa, typical |
| 2. Tokyo → Morioka → TokyoTohoku Shinkansen | 2 | ¥9,020 | ¥6,430Hayabusa | — | 2 h 13 minHayabusa, typical |
Express charge = reserved-seat limited express charge, normal season, on the JR-Pass-covered train. “Pass ticket” is the NOZOMI MIZUHO Ticket a pass holder buys per ride. The calculator uses the same station-pair fare for either direction.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.7: Tohoku/Hokkaido Shinkansen (Hayabusa) table (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.8: Tohoku/Hokkaido Shinkansen (Hayate/Yamabiko/Nasuno) table with operating kilometres from Tokyo (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.9: Green Car / Gran Class charges for Tohoku, Joetsu, Hokuriku and Hokkaido Shinkansen (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Jikokuhyo Tokyo-eki (Tokyo Station timetables): Tokaido/Sanyo, Tohoku/Hokkaido, Joetsu and Hokuriku Shinkansen, weekday departures and per-train stop lists (JR East) · Verified on · Times read from the operator's November 2026 weekday timetable (trains running on Wed 4 Nov 2026): one train's arrival time minus its departure time at the two stations. 'Typical' = the median of all runs of that train type; 'fastest' = the quickest scheduled run. Tokyo departures only (outbound direction). Per-train pages change URL every month, so the station index is cited. Tokyo-Sendai: Hayabusa 30 runs, 90-98 min (median 92), quickest Hayabusa 11 (90 min). Yamabiko (also Pass-covered) 37 runs, median 124 min.
Regular tickets vs the JR Pass
| Pattern | Regular tickets | Nozomi tickets | Official online | Overseas agent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pass-covered trains, ordinary car | ¥54,160 | ¥0 | ¥50,000Pass saves ¥4,160 | ¥53,000Pass saves ¥1,160 |
| Nozomi/Mizuho where marked, ordinary car | ¥54,160 | ¥0 | ¥50,000Pass saves ¥4,160 | ¥53,000Pass saves ¥1,160 |
| Pass-covered trains, Green Car | ¥71,220 | ¥0 | ¥70,000Pass saves ¥1,220 | ¥74,000Regular tickets are cheaper by ¥2,780 |
| Nozomi/Mizuho where marked, Green Car | ¥71,220 | ¥0 | ¥70,000Pass saves ¥1,220 | ¥74,000Regular tickets are cheaper by ¥2,780 |
Pass columns = pass price + Nozomi/Mizuho tickets. Regular tickets are summed leg by leg for one adult, normal season; round trips count twice. Green Car = basic fare + (limited express charge − ¥530) + Green Car charge. Nozomi/Mizuho do not run on these legs, so the Nozomi rows equal the pass-covered rows.
- Source: Types and prices | JAPAN RAIL PASS (JAPAN RAIL PASS (JR Group)) · Verified on · Official online purchasing service (JAPAN RAIL PASS Reservation). Per the JR Group release of 9 Apr 2026, online prices stay unchanged 'for a limited time' after the 1 Oct 2026 increase; the end of this price freeze will be announced later (no end date published as of 2026-10-26). validFrom is the date of the previous price change named in that release.
- Source: Price Changes for the Japan Rail Pass (April 9, 2026, JR Group) (JR Group) · Verified on · Overseas JR-designated sales offices/agencies (Exchange Order), for purchases on or after 1 Oct 2026 (local time at the place of purchase). The same amounts are shown on https://japanrailpass.net/en/purchase/price/ .
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.2: Shinkansen fare and limited express charge quick-reference table (Tokaido/Sanyo Nozomi; Hikari/Kodama from Tokyo) (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.3: Tokaido/Sanyo Hikari/Kodama table (continued) and Tokaido/Sanyo Shinkansen Green Car charges (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.9: Green Car / Gran Class charges for Tohoku, Joetsu, Hokuriku and Hokkaido Shinkansen (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Revision of Nozomi/Mizuho reserved-seat limited express charges and Green Car charges on the Tokaido/Sanyo Shinkansen (press release, 16 Oct 2026) (JR Central / JR West) · Verified on · Japanese PDF. Its 'current' (現行) sample totals were used to cross-check the Kippu no Rule figures; its revised amounts apply only from 2027-07-01 (Nozomi/Mizuho charge) and 2027-12-15 (Green Car charge) and are NOT used in the fares below.
- Source: Use of NOZOMI/MIZUHO trains (JAPAN RAIL PASS (JR Group)) · Verified on
- Source: NOZOMI MIZUHO Ticket: available sections, types, prices (for adults) (JAPAN RAIL PASS (JR Group)) · Verified on · Tax included. The same prices apply to Green Car tickets, reserved seat tickets in an ordinary car and non-reserved seat tickets in an ordinary car.
A regional pass also covers all these legs
Every leg you entered (Tokyo – Sendai, Tokyo – Morioka) is inside the area of 2 regional passes. Regional passes are for holders of a foreign passport only and run for consecutive days; check the conditions before you buy.
- JR EAST PASS (5 days) (JR East, 5 days)¥35,000 adult, price on JR East's pass page (sales channel not stated)¥19,160 less than your regular tickets.Nozomi / Mizuho: Not applicable: the pass cannot be used on the Tokaido Shinkansen (run by another company).
- JR EAST PASS (10 days) (JR East, 10 days)¥50,000 adult, price on JR East's pass page (sales channel not stated)¥4,160 less than your regular tickets.Nozomi / Mizuho: Not applicable: the pass cannot be used on the Tokaido Shinkansen (run by another company).
- Source: JR EAST PASS: area covered, price, validity period (JR East) · Verified on · www.jreast.co.jp refuses automated requests; the page text was read in a browser by the site owner on 2026-10-26 and only the figures printed on it are recorded.
- Source: Find Your Pass: list of passes offered by JR East (JR East) · Verified on · Read in a browser on 2026-10-26. Lists JR EAST PASS, JR Tohoku-South Hokkaido Rail Pass, JR East-South Hokkaido Rail Pass, Hokuriku Arch Pass, JR TOKYO Wide Pass and N'EX TOKYO Round Trip Ticket; no prices on this page.
Change the legs, the date or the pass length
Notes on this itinerary
- Sendai to Morioka is not in our fare table, so both trips start and end in Tokyo.
- Nozomi/Mizuho do not run on the Tohoku Shinkansen, so the Hikari and Nozomi patterns give the same result.
All limited express charges here are for an ordinary-car reserved seat in the normal season. JR's fare guide states that the reserved-seat charge is 400 yen higher in the busiest season, 200 yen higher in the busy season and 200 yen lower in the off-peak season (the guide notes that JR Hokkaido conventional lines have no busy/off-peak adjustment, and JR Kyushu conventional lines and the Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen have no off-peak adjustment). Non-reserved seats cost the normal-season reserved charge minus 530 yen regardless of date.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.7: Tohoku/Hokkaido Shinkansen (Hayabusa) table (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.8: Tohoku/Hokkaido Shinkansen (Hayate/Yamabiko/Nasuno) table with operating kilometres from Tokyo (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.9: Green Car / Gran Class charges for Tohoku, Joetsu, Hokuriku and Hokkaido Shinkansen (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Jikokuhyo Tokyo-eki (Tokyo Station timetables): Tokaido/Sanyo, Tohoku/Hokkaido, Joetsu and Hokuriku Shinkansen, weekday departures and per-train stop lists (JR East) · Verified on · Times read from the operator's November 2026 weekday timetable (trains running on Wed 4 Nov 2026): one train's arrival time minus its departure time at the two stations. 'Typical' = the median of all runs of that train type; 'fastest' = the quickest scheduled run. Tokyo departures only (outbound direction). Per-train pages change URL every month, so the station index is cited. Tokyo-Sendai: Hayabusa 30 runs, 90-98 min (median 92), quickest Hayabusa 11 (90 min). Yamabiko (also Pass-covered) 37 runs, median 124 min.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.2: Shinkansen fare and limited express charge quick-reference table (Tokaido/Sanyo Nozomi; Hikari/Kodama from Tokyo) (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Kippu no Rule (October 2026 edition) p.3: Tokaido/Sanyo Hikari/Kodama table (continued) and Tokaido/Sanyo Shinkansen Green Car charges (JR West) · Verified on · JR West 'Kippu no Rule' October 2026 edition (【2026年10月号】), read from the e-book's Japanese text layer. This URL always serves the latest edition. Normal season, adult, one way.
- Source: Revision of Nozomi/Mizuho reserved-seat limited express charges and Green Car charges on the Tokaido/Sanyo Shinkansen (press release, 16 Oct 2026) (JR Central / JR West) · Verified on · Japanese PDF. Its 'current' (現行) sample totals were used to cross-check the Kippu no Rule figures; its revised amounts apply only from 2027-07-01 (Nozomi/Mizuho charge) and 2027-12-15 (Green Car charge) and are NOT used in the fares below.
- Source: Use of NOZOMI/MIZUHO trains (JAPAN RAIL PASS (JR Group)) · Verified on
- Source: NOZOMI MIZUHO Ticket: available sections, types, prices (for adults) (JAPAN RAIL PASS (JR Group)) · Verified on · Tax included. The same prices apply to Green Car tickets, reserved seat tickets in an ordinary car and non-reserved seat tickets in an ordinary car.
FAQ
Is the 7-day JR Pass worth it for this itinerary?
Regular tickets ¥54,160 vs ¥50,000 for the 7-day ordinary pass at the official online price. Pass saves ¥4,160.
Do I need Nozomi/Mizuho tickets on this itinerary?
No. None of these legs is on a line where Nozomi or Mizuho run, so the pass covers the trains used here with no NOZOMI MIZUHO Ticket.
How much do regular Shinkansen tickets cost for this itinerary?
¥54,160 for one adult on the JR-Pass-covered trains (ordinary reserved seat, normal season, priced leg by leg) and ¥71,220 in the Green Car (basic fare + limited express charge − ¥530 + Green Car charge).
Route guides for these legs
Tours at your stops
Viator is one of the booking sites that lists tours and activities for the cities on this itinerary.
- Tours and activities in Tokyo on Viator(affiliate link)
- Tours and activities in Sendai on Viator(affiliate link)
- Tours and activities in Iwate Prefecture on Viator(affiliate link)
What to check before booking a tour in Japan
Japan Trip Math has been approved for Viator's affiliate programme and may earn a commission if you book through these links. It does not change the price you pay. Affiliate disclosure