Skip to content
¥ Japan Trip Math

Regional JR passes vs the nationwide JR Pass

Passes sold by one JR company (or two together) cover a smaller area than the nationwide Japan Rail Pass. Here is what each one costs, where it goes and which Shinkansen routes it includes, from the operators' own pages.

Regional passes are for foreign visitors only: JR West, JR Central and JR Kyushu require a foreign passport and 'Temporary Visitor' entry status; JR Hokkaido says all non-Japanese passport holders can use its passes. None of the regional passes listed here covers the Tokaido Shinkansen, so Tokyo–Nagoya–Kyoto–Shin-Osaka by Shinkansen always needs a separate ticket (or the nationwide JR Pass). JR West pass pages do not mention Nozomi or Mizuho by name; they list the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid without excluding any train type. JR West: prices are fixed by the date of purchase, not the date of exchange or use; an exchange order (MCO/E-TICKET) bought outside Japan must be exchanged within 3 months; refunds of unused passes cost 10% of the price (minimum 220 yen). Prices can differ by sales channel: JR Kyushu Online Booking is 1,000 yen cheaper per adult than the price on its pass page; JR Hokkaido pre-purchase is 1,000 yen cheaper per adult than buying at a station. JR East's own passes are listed with the price only (JR EAST PASS 5/10 days and JR TOKYO Wide Pass, read from JR East's N'EX page in a browser on 2026-10-26); their areas and conditions, and the two South Hokkaido passes, are not yet verified because JR East's site refuses automated requests.

All regional passes in our data

One row per pass and length. Prices are per person in yen as printed on the official page; where an operator lists more than one sales channel, each channel is shown. “Shinkansen routes covered” lists the routes from our fare table that the pass covers end to end. “Dates” are the dates the official page states (a price start date, a usage period or an end of sales); the official page says which applies.

Showing 28 of 28 passes.

Regional JR passes: price per sales channel, area and Shinkansen routes covered
PassOperatorDaysAdult priceAreaShinkansen routes coveredNozomi / MizuhoDates
Kansai Area PassJR West1
  • ¥2,800all channels (one price listed)Child ¥1,400
JR West conventional lines around Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe, Nara, Himeji, Wakayama and Otsu, plus the Kansai-Airport Express HARUKA. No Shinkansen.None of the routes in our fare tableNountil
Kansai WIDE Area PassJR West5
  • ¥12,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥6,000
Kansai (Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe, Nara, Wakayama) out to Okayama, Takamatsu, Kinosaki Onsen, Amanohashidate, Tottori and Shirahama, including the Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Okayama.None of the routes in our fare tableNot excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Kansai-Hiroshima Area PassJR West5
  • ¥17,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥8,500
Kansai to Okayama and Hiroshima, including the Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Hiroshima and the JR West Miyajima Ferry.Not excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Kansai-San'in Area PassJR West7
  • ¥18,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥9,000
Kansai to Okayama and the San'in coast (Tottori, Shimane, Hagi), including the Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Okayama.None of the routes in our fare tableNot excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Sanyo-San'in Area PassJR West7
  • ¥23,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥11,500
Kansai and Fukuoka (Hakata) to Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi, Tottori and Shimane, including the whole Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Hakata and the Miyajima Ferry.Not excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Kansai-Hokuriku Area PassJR West7
  • ¥19,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥9,500
Kansai to Fukui, Kanazawa and Toyama, including the Hokuriku Shinkansen between Tsuruga and Joetsu-Myoko and the Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Okayama.None of the routes in our fare tableNot excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Hokuriku Area PassJR West4
  • ¥7,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥3,500
Toyama, Ishikawa (Kanazawa) and Fukui only, including non-reserved seats on the Hokuriku Shinkansen between Tsuruga and Kurobe-Unazukionsen.None of the routes in our fare tableNo—
Hiroshima-Yamaguchi Area PassJR West5
  • ¥15,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥7,500
Hiroshima, Yamaguchi and Fukuoka (Hakata), including the Sanyo Shinkansen between Mihara and Hakata and the Miyajima Ferry.Not excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Okayama-Hiroshima-Yamaguchi Area PassJR West5
  • ¥17,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥8,500
Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi, Takamatsu and Fukuoka (Hakata), including the Sanyo Shinkansen between Okayama and Hakata, the Miyajima Ferry and Chugoku JR route buses.Not excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
JR-WEST All Area PassJR West7
  • ¥26,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥13,000
All of JR West from Kansai to Hokuriku, Sanyo, San'in and Hakata, including the Sanyo Shinkansen (Shin-Osaka–Hakata) and the Hokuriku Shinkansen (Tsuruga–Joetsu-Myoko).Not excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Setouchi Area PassJR West7
  • ¥22,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥11,000
Kansai, Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi, Fukuoka (Hakata) and the Seto Inland Sea area incl. Takamatsu and Matsuyama, with the Sanyo Shinkansen (Shin-Osaka–Hakata), JR Shikoku lines and some ferries.Not excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Sanyo-San'in Northern Kyushu PassJR West / JR Kyushu7
  • ¥26,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥13,000
Kansai, Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi, Tottori and Shimane plus northern Kyushu (Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita), including the Sanyo Shinkansen (Shin-Osaka–Hakata), Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata–Kumamoto) and Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen (Takeo-Onsen–Nagasaki).Not excluded: the official page lists the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type, but it does not name Nozomi/Mizuho explicitly.—
Hokuriku Arch PassJR West / JR East7
  • ¥35,000all channels (one price listed)Child ¥17,500
Tokyo and Kansai linked through Hokuriku (Toyama, Kanazawa, Fukui) by the Hokuriku Shinkansen between Tokyo and Tsuruga, plus JR East / JR West local lines and the Tokyo Monorail; Haneda and Narita airports are in the area.Not applicable (Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen are excluded). On the Tohoku Shinkansen section Tokyo–Omiya, HAYABUSA and KOMACHI need a separate limited express ticket.—
Takayama-Hokuriku Area Tourist PassJR Central5
  • ¥19,800all channels (one price listed)Child ¥9,900
Osaka/Kansai Airport and Nagoya to Takayama, Shirakawa-go, Kanazawa and Toyama by JR limited express and local trains, the Hokuriku Shinkansen between Toyama and Tsuruga, and listed buses.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable: the Tokaido Shinkansen is not covered (Kyoto–Shin-Osaka by Shinkansen needs the basic fare and an additional fee).—
Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist PassJR Central5
  • ¥16,500all channels (one price listed)Child ¥8,250
Nagoya and Osaka to Ise, Toba, the Kumano Kodo area and Wakayama by JR and Ise Railway trains, the Wakayama Electric Railway and listed Mie Kotsu / Kumano Gobo Nankai buses.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable: no Shinkansen is included.—
Mt. Fuji-Shizuoka Area Tourist Pass MiniJR Central3
  • ¥6,500all channels (one price listed)Child ¥3,250
JR conventional lines around Mt. Fuji, Shizuoka and Hamamatsu (Tokaido Main Line Atami–Toyohashi, Gotemba Line, Minobu Line), the Izuhakone Railway, listed buses and Suruga Bay ferries.None of the routes in our fare tableNo—
Alpine-Takayama-Matsumoto Area Tourist PassJR Central5
  • ¥24,500all channels (one price listed)Child ¥12,250
Nagoya to Takayama and Toyama, the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route to Shinano-Omachi, and back to Nagoya via Matsumoto, plus the Toyama Chiho Railway.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable: no Shinkansen is included.from until
JR Kyushu Rail Pass - All Kyushu (3 days)JR Kyushu3
  • ¥22,000travel agency voucher or purchase in Kyushu (price on the pass page)Child ¥11,000
  • ¥21,000JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS Online BookingChild ¥10,500
All JR Kyushu lines including Shimonoseki, the Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata–Kagoshima-Chuo) and the Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen (Takeo-Onsen–Nagasaki).None of the routes in our fare tableMizuho, Sakura, Tsubame and Kamome are all valid within the area. The Sanyo Shinkansen (Hakata–Kokura and beyond) is JR West and not covered.from
JR Kyushu Rail Pass - All Kyushu (5 days)JR Kyushu5
  • ¥24,000travel agency voucher or purchase in Kyushu (price on the pass page)Child ¥12,000
  • ¥23,000JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS Online BookingChild ¥11,500
All JR Kyushu lines including Shimonoseki, the Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata–Kagoshima-Chuo) and the Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen (Takeo-Onsen–Nagasaki).None of the routes in our fare tableMizuho, Sakura, Tsubame and Kamome are all valid within the area. The Sanyo Shinkansen (Hakata–Kokura and beyond) is JR West and not covered.from
JR Kyushu Rail Pass - All Kyushu (7 days)JR Kyushu7
  • ¥26,000travel agency voucher or purchase in Kyushu (price on the pass page)Child ¥13,000
  • ¥25,000JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS Online BookingChild ¥12,500
All JR Kyushu lines including Shimonoseki, the Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata–Kagoshima-Chuo) and the Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen (Takeo-Onsen–Nagasaki).None of the routes in our fare tableMizuho, Sakura, Tsubame and Kamome are all valid within the area. The Sanyo Shinkansen (Hakata–Kokura and beyond) is JR West and not covered.from
JR Kyushu Rail Pass - Northern Kyushu (3 days)JR Kyushu3
  • ¥15,000travel agency voucher or purchase in Kyushu (price on the pass page)Child ¥7,500
  • ¥14,000JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS Online BookingChild ¥7,000
JR Kyushu lines in Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Oita and Kumamoto (as far as Kumamoto/Misumi), the Kyushu Shinkansen between Hakata and Kumamoto and the Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen (Takeo-Onsen–Nagasaki).None of the routes in our fare tableMizuho, Sakura, Tsubame and Kamome are valid within the area (Kyushu Shinkansen only Hakata–Kumamoto). The Sanyo Shinkansen (Hakata–Kokura) is not covered.from
JR Kyushu Rail Pass - Northern Kyushu (5 days)JR Kyushu5
  • ¥17,000travel agency voucher or purchase in Kyushu (price on the pass page)Child ¥8,500
  • ¥16,000JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS Online BookingChild ¥8,000
JR Kyushu lines in Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Oita and Kumamoto (as far as Kumamoto/Misumi), the Kyushu Shinkansen between Hakata and Kumamoto and the Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen (Takeo-Onsen–Nagasaki).None of the routes in our fare tableMizuho, Sakura, Tsubame and Kamome are valid within the area (Kyushu Shinkansen only Hakata–Kumamoto). The Sanyo Shinkansen (Hakata–Kokura) is not covered.from
Hokkaido Rail Pass (5 days)JR Hokkaido5
  • ¥22,000pre-purchase (exchange order from travel agents outside Japan, or JR-EAST Train Reservation)Child ¥11,000
  • ¥23,000purchase at designated JR Hokkaido stationsChild ¥11,500
All JR Hokkaido conventional lines (Hakodate, Sapporo, Otaru, Asahikawa, Wakkanai, Abashiri, Kushiro and more). The Hokkaido Shinkansen is not included.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable: the pass cannot be used on the Hokkaido Shinkansen.—
Hokkaido Rail Pass (7 days)JR Hokkaido7
  • ¥28,000pre-purchase (exchange order from travel agents outside Japan, or JR-EAST Train Reservation)Child ¥14,000
  • ¥29,000purchase at designated JR Hokkaido stationsChild ¥14,500
All JR Hokkaido conventional lines (Hakodate, Sapporo, Otaru, Asahikawa, Wakkanai, Abashiri, Kushiro and more). The Hokkaido Shinkansen is not included.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable: the pass cannot be used on the Hokkaido Shinkansen.—
Hokkaido Rail Pass (10 days)JR Hokkaido10
  • ¥37,000pre-purchase (exchange order from travel agents outside Japan, or JR-EAST Train Reservation)Child ¥18,500
  • ¥38,000purchase at designated JR Hokkaido stationsChild ¥19,000
All JR Hokkaido conventional lines (Hakodate, Sapporo, Otaru, Asahikawa, Wakkanai, Abashiri, Kushiro and more). The Hokkaido Shinkansen is not included.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable: the pass cannot be used on the Hokkaido Shinkansen.—
JR EAST PASS (5 days)JR East5
  • ¥35,000price shown on JR East's N'EX page (sales channel not stated)
JR East's page describes it as a pass for travelling across all of eastern Japan (JR East network) with unlimited rides; the exact area and valid trains are not yet verified.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable (the Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen are outside JR East).—
JR EAST PASS (10 days)JR East10
  • ¥50,000price shown on JR East's N'EX page (sales channel not stated)
JR East's page describes it as a pass for travelling across all of eastern Japan (JR East network) with unlimited rides; the exact area and valid trains are not yet verified.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable (the Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen are outside JR East).—
JR TOKYO Wide PassJR East3
  • ¥16,000price shown on JR East's N'EX page (sales channel not stated)
JR East's page recommends it for Tokyo and the surrounding area (e.g. Nikko); the exact area and valid trains are not yet verified.None of the routes in our fare tableNot applicable (the Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen are outside JR East).—
  • Source: Kansai Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Kansai WIDE Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Kansai-San'in Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Sanyo-San'in Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Kansai-Hokuriku Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Hokuriku Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Hiroshima-Yamaguchi Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Okayama-Hiroshima-Yamaguchi Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: JR-WEST All Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Setouchi Area Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Sanyo-San'in Northern Kyushu Pass (JR West) · Verified on · The page footer says: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of August 1, 2024, and subject to change.' Prices are as printed on 2026-10-26.
  • Source: Hokuriku Arch Pass (JR West) · Verified on · Page footer: 'Displayed information (including prices) is current as of January 28, 2026'. Valid trains: reserved seats on HOKURIKU SHINKANSEN (Tsuruga–Tokyo); Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen excluded.
  • Source: Takayama-Hokuriku Area Tourist Pass (JR Central) · Verified on
  • Source: Alpine-Takayama-Matsumoto Area Tourist Pass: points to note (online) - Qualifications of Use (JR Central) · Verified on · PDF; states it is up to date as of July 2021. The same 'Qualifications of Use' wording appears in the travel-agent and at-station versions.
  • Source: Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass (JR Central) · Verified on
  • Source: Mt. Fuji-Shizuoka Area Tourist Pass Mini (JR Central) · Verified on
  • Source: Alpine-Takayama-Matsumoto Area Tourist Pass (JR Central) · Verified on
  • Source: JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS (JR Kyushu) · Verified on
  • Source: Announcement about Reservation via JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS Online Booking (February 2025) (JR Kyushu) · Verified on · PDF linked from the rail pass page. Online Booking prices effective from 1 April 2025; the PDF says the price differs when bought at a station counter or via a travel agency.
  • Source: Notice about product revision (February 3, 2025) (JR Kyushu) · Verified on · PDF: new prices apply to MCOs (eMCOs) issued on or after 1 April 2025.
  • Source: Rail Pass (JR Hokkaido) · Verified on
  • Source: Narita Express (N'EX): recommended passes with prices (page text dated 2026-03-14) (JR East) · Verified on · Price read from JR East's Narita Express page (text dated 2026-03-14) as displayed in a browser on 2026-10-26; the page refuses automated requests. Area, child price, reserved-seat rules and eligibility are not on that page and are not yet verified.
  • Source: Find Your Pass: list of passes offered by JR East (JR East) · Verified on · Read in a browser on 2026-10-26. Lists JR EAST PASS, JR Tohoku-South Hokkaido Rail Pass, JR East-South Hokkaido Rail Pass, Hokuriku Arch Pass, JR TOKYO Wide Pass and N'EX TOKYO Round Trip Ticket; no prices on this page.

JR East passes

Not yet in our verified data

The following JR East passes are not in our verified data (as of ). We will add their prices and areas once we have checked them on JR East's official pages. The JR EAST PASS (5 or 10 days) and the JR TOKYO Wide Pass are in the table above with their prices only; their areas, child prices and conditions are not yet verified.

  • JR Tohoku-South Hokkaido Rail Pass: not yet verified
  • JR East-South Hokkaido Rail Pass: not yet verified

How to compare with the nationwide pass

Enter your Shinkansen legs in the JR Pass calculator. It compares regular tickets with the nationwide Japan Rail Pass and lists the regional passes on this page that cover all of your legs, with the price difference against regular tickets.

  • A regional pass only helps when every leg is inside its area. A trip that also rides the Tokaido Shinkansen (Tokyo, Nagoya, Kyoto) needs separate tickets for that part.
  • Compare the number of days too: regional passes run for consecutive days, and several are sold in more than one length.
  • Check Nozomi / Mizuho in the table above before you plan on the fastest trains.

FAQ

Is a regional pass cheaper online than at a station?

For some operators, yes. JR Kyushu and JR Hokkaido publish a different price per sales channel, for example JR Kyushu Rail Pass - All Kyushu (3 days): ¥21,000 (JR KYUSHU RAIL PASS Online Booking) against ¥22,000 (travel agency voucher or purchase in Kyushu (price on the pass page)) per adult. Hokkaido Rail Pass (5 days): ¥22,000 (pre-purchase (exchange order from travel agents outside Japan, or JR-EAST Train Reservation)) against ¥23,000 (purchase at designated JR Hokkaido stations) per adult. The JR West and JR Central pages print one price per pass without naming a channel.

Do the JR Central tourist passes include the Tokaido Shinkansen?

No. None of the regional passes on this page covers the Tokaido Shinkansen, including JR Central's own tourist passes. Tokyo–Nagoya–Kyoto–Shin-Osaka by Shinkansen needs a separate ticket or the nationwide JR Pass.

Can I ride Nozomi or Mizuho with a JR West pass?

The JR West pass pages do not name Nozomi or Mizuho. They list the Sanyo Shinkansen section as valid for reserved seats without excluding any train type. The JR Kyushu Rail Pass states that Mizuho, Sakura, Tsubame and Kamome are valid within its area, but it does not cover the Sanyo Shinkansen (Hakata–Kokura and beyond).

Is the Hokkaido Rail Pass valid on the Hokkaido Shinkansen?

No. JR Hokkaido says the pass cannot be used on the Hokkaido Shinkansen. It is also not valid on the South Hokkaido Railway, streetcars or the subway. It covers JR Hokkaido's conventional lines.

Who can buy a regional JR pass?

Foreign visitors. JR West, JR Central and JR Kyushu require a passport issued outside Japan and 'Temporary Visitor' entry status; JR West states that Japanese nationals cannot use its passes, including those with permanent residency abroad. JR Hokkaido says all non-Japanese passport holders can use its passes, and asks to see the passport when you exchange or buy one.