Travel insurance for Japan: what to check before you buy
How visitors pay for medical treatment in Japan, the questions to answer from any policy's wording, and what one provider's own pages state. Facts come from JNTO and SafetyWing's official pages; we do not say whether you need insurance or which policy to choose.
Paying for medical treatment in Japan
What the Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO) tells visitors who fall ill:
- JNTO says that if you are not subscribed to overseas travel insurance, you may be charged the full amount for treatment.
- If your overseas travel insurance includes a cash-free payment service, JNTO says there is no need to pay at the hospital; it adds that the cash-free conditions vary by insurance company and should be checked beforehand.
- Payment by credit card is only accepted at major hospitals; JNTO says clinics generally accept cash only. You can ask reception for a general estimate of the treatment cost.
- JNTO says there is travel insurance that you can purchase even after you enter Japan.
- JNTO warns that foreign visitors who fail to pay their medical expenses may be denied entry into Japan in the future.
- JNTO runs the Japan Visitor Hotline, a 24/7 multilingual call centre (English, Chinese and Korean) on 050-3816-2787. As a general rule it does not provide three-way interpretation or make reservations on behalf of visitors.
- Source: For safe travels in Japan - Guide for when you are feeling ill (Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO)) · Verified on
What to check in any policy
These are general questions to answer from the policy wording of whichever insurance you are considering, including cover from your home insurer or a credit card. The answers, and any amounts, are in each policy's own documents.
Cover limits
- What is the overall medical limit, and is it per trip, per year or per lifetime?
- Are hospital stays, surgery and medical evacuation covered, and do they have their own lower limits?
Deductible (excess)
- Is there an amount you pay yourself before the insurer pays?
- Does it apply per claim, per condition or per trip?
Pre-existing conditions
- How does the policy define a pre-existing condition?
- Are conditions you already have excluded, or covered only for sudden flare-ups?
Activities such as skiing
- Are skiing, snowboarding or hiking on your plan covered as standard, only with an add-on, or not at all?
- Are there conditions, such as staying on marked runs or following local advice?
Cash-free treatment or pay and claim
- Can the insurer pay the hospital directly, or do you pay first and claim back?
- If you pay first, can you cover the bill? JNTO notes that clinics in Japan generally accept cash only.
How claims work
- Which documents do you need from the hospital (receipts, medical certificate, in which language)?
- Do you need to contact the insurer before treatment or before discharge from hospital?
Buying after you have left home
- Can the policy be bought once you are already abroad or in Japan?
- If so, is there a waiting period before cover starts?
SafetyWing Nomad Insurance: what its pages state
SafetyWing's Nomad Insurance is one option; compare with your home insurer or credit card cover. The table shows only what SafetyWing's product page and FAQ stated on 27 October 2026. Where those pages did not state something, the table says so instead of giving a figure. The policy wording on SafetyWing's site is what applies.
| Item | Essential | Complete |
|---|---|---|
| Japan as a destination | Japan is not on the FAQ's list of destinations Essential cannot be used for (Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Puerto Rico, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, and your home country). The pages do not name Japan directly. | Not stated on the pages we read; see the official page |
| Price shown (ages 18-39) | US$62.72 per 4 weeks | US$177.50 per month |
| Overall limit | US$250,000 | Not stated on the pages we read; see the official page |
| Deductible | None (“Nomad Insurance does not have a deductible on either plan”) | None (same FAQ statement) |
| Age at purchase | Can be purchased up to age 69 | Available for those under 64 |
| Buying after you have left home | Can be purchased anytime, whether or not you are already abroad; Essential cover only starts when you leave your home country | Can be purchased anytime, whether or not you are already abroad |
| How long it runs | Can auto-extend every 28 days, up to a maximum of 364 days | Renewed automatically each year |
| Skiing and sports | Skiing listed, but not off-piste or against the advice of the local ski school or local authoritative body; an adventure sports add-on costs US$10 per 28 days | Sports covered without an add-on; the FAQ says some exceptions apply in cases of professional sports or high-risk activities |
| Pre-existing conditions | Not covered (the Essential plan also excludes maternity care and cancer treatment) | Not covered (“the Complete plan also does not cover pre-existing conditions”) |
| Paying for treatment | Any licensed hospital, clinic or doctor; for most situations you pay yourself and claim later in your dashboard. If hospitalised, tell SafetyWing before discharge; direct billing with the hospital can be requested | Same (the FAQ answer is not specific to one plan) |
- Source: Nomad Insurance FAQ - Coverage and claims (SafetyWing) · Verified on
- Source: Insurance for Nomads, by Nomads (SafetyWing) · Verified on · Prices shown for ages 18-39, in USD; the page's calculator gives other prices for other ages.
Before you buy any policy
Prices depend on age and dates, and terms can change. Check the current price and the full policy wording on the provider's site, and compare them with any cover you already have.
SafetyWing's official site: SafetyWing Nomad Insurance (Essential)(affiliate link) · Nomad Insurance Complete(affiliate link)
Other trip preparation
For the rest of the money and paperwork questions before a Japan trip, see the Japan trip checklist. To stay reachable for the Japan Visitor Hotline or your insurer, compare data plans on eSIM, SIM and pocket Wi-Fi plans for Japan.
FAQ
Do visitors to Japan pay the full cost of medical treatment?
JNTO says that if you are not subscribed to overseas travel insurance, you may be charged the full amount. If your insurance includes a cash-free payment service, JNTO says there is no need to pay at the hospital, but the cash-free conditions vary by insurer.
Can I buy travel insurance after I have arrived in Japan?
JNTO says there is travel insurance that you can purchase even after you enter Japan. SafetyWing's FAQ says Nomad Insurance can be purchased anytime, whether or not you are already abroad, and that Essential cover only starts when you leave your home country.
Can I pay a Japanese hospital by credit card?
According to JNTO, credit cards are only accepted at major hospitals, and clinics generally accept cash only. You can ask reception for a general estimate of the treatment cost.
Does SafetyWing Nomad Insurance cover skiing in Japan?
SafetyWing's FAQ lists skiing for the Essential plan, but not off-piste or against the advice of the local ski school or local authoritative body; an adventure sports add-on is available for US$10 per 28 days. For the Complete plan the FAQ says sports are covered without an add-on, with some exceptions for professional sports or high-risk activities. Check the current terms on SafetyWing's site.
All sources on this page
- Source: For safe travels in Japan - Guide for when you are feeling ill (Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO)) · Verified on
- Source: Nomad Insurance FAQ - Coverage and claims (SafetyWing) · Verified on
- Source: Insurance for Nomads, by Nomads (SafetyWing) · Verified on · Prices shown for ages 18-39, in USD; the page's calculator gives other prices for other ages.